#1 (permalink)  
Old 03-21-2008, 09:50 AM
Just starting out
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Sharmayla is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Is this a scam?

Hi. I got a call last night from Generation X about a home business opportunity. They had ones that were free and others that had a start-up fee of $100. I chose a free one - wellness products. He gave me a website: www.discoverlinu.com/lifechanging. He said there would be testimonials from people earning a six-figure income. I went to look it up, and the site doesn't exist. I typed it in exactly as he said - all lowercase. Why would he give me a site that doesn't exist? He's supposed to call me back today after 12:30pm. What do I do? Hope someone sees this before he calls! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 02:03 AM
Tom Lindstrom's Avatar
Getting good at this!
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 5
Tom Lindstrom is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is this a scam?

A start-up fee for a home business opportunity? I would not pay anything to sign up for an opportunity.Usually there are different upgrade options once you have signed up, but never any payments just for a sign up.I checked the domain with whois.org, and it does not exist.The domain name is currently for sale.The conclusion, it seems like a scam.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 11:35 AM
mylo's Avatar
Just starting out
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
mylo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is this a scam?

When you get the feeling that something just isn't right, it probably isn't.
I have a great site for you to sell wellness products and other products for free.
Go to the my first signature url.
Go to the second opportunity "The Best Work at Home Opportunity."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-21-2008, 01:22 AM
travelagent's Avatar
Getting good at this!
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Shasta Lake City, CA
Posts: 93
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 5
travelagent is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is this a scam?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharmayla
Hi. I got a call last night from Generation X about a home business opportunity. They had ones that were free and others that had a start-up fee of $100. I chose a free one - wellness products. He gave me a website: www.discoverlinu.com/lifechanging. He said there would be testimonials from people earning a six-figure income. I went to look it up, and the site doesn't exist. I typed it in exactly as he said - all lowercase. Why would he give me a site that doesn't exist? He's supposed to call me back today after 12:30pm. What do I do? Hope someone sees this before he calls! Thanks!

I hate to see anyone to get scammed with a business opportunity. There are so many i realize it must be really hard to find a legit company. There are many legit opportunitys represented here at this forum. Also check out ripoffreports.com and scam.com. Please do your research befor giving out any money or personal information. If you have any doubts about a company go with your gut do not do it.


Donica
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-21-2008, 08:12 AM
Just starting out
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
Sharmayla is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is this a scam?

Thanks everybody! He did call back, and I had misspelled the website, and it does exist, but they were selling extremely expensive health drinks. They were like $50 for a one or two liter bottle! So needless to say, I didn't persue it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-21-2008, 09:47 AM
RobHunter's Avatar
Just starting out
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 32
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
RobHunter is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs up Re: Is this a scam?

Generation X is actually a lead generation company. Some poor sap paid them like $3-$5 or so for them to direct you to his website.

Why don't you tell us what you are looking for in a business opportunity? Do you want an MLM, where you need to build a downline? Do you want an internet-based business, where you market online and let prospects come to you? Do you want to set up an affiliate marketing business, and sell other people's products for commissions?

What is your budget like for starting your business?

Based on what you are looking for, and how much money you have to invest, we can probably steer you in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-19-2008, 06:44 AM
Just starting out
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
CoWater4Gas is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is this a scam?

There are so many opportunites, it is really hard to decide which one is 1) legit 2) which one you would be good at.

I run a distributorship program for my products, and I often times turn people away becuase I just don't think they would make any money with my products.

What you need to really ask your-self is what you would be good doing, and hunt for that. That is what I did, and I couldn't find it. So I made it my-self.

Best of luck to ya.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-19-2008, 02:37 PM
Just starting out
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
samrev101 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is this a scam?

So many programs. Many are really good. Nowadays, the start up costs are very low if anything at all. I would look for a business that comes with marketing tools that you can implement right away so you can get in the money ASAP. Hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2008, 06:57 AM
sng sng is offline
Just starting out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
sng is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is this a scam?

Sound like BS! Dont do it!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads for: Is this a scam?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scam vabeaty Scams & Rip-Offs 9 11-29-2008 06:57 AM
Help to indentify a scam Dave Scams & Rip-Offs 15 10-16-2008 05:04 AM
Don't Get Scammed careers Scams & Rip-Offs 13 03-14-2008 11:08 PM
SOS for scam victims panda Home Business Law 6 06-23-2007 05:39 AM
Envelope Stuffing Scam Sapphira Scams & Rip-Offs 2 11-30-2006 08:22 AM



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 AM.
Contact Us -
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.5.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0